HOME > Human Resorce Development > CSPC

Human Resorce Development

CSPC (Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress) International Fellows Program

The International Fellows Program sponsored by the CSPC (Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress) brings together students from top flight universities in the United States, as well as other countries, twice a year (one week in the fall semester (October) and spring semester (March)) in Washington D.C. to meet with key members of the White House and Congress to discuss U.S. policy and other topics, after which they produce a paper on a particular topic of research. Each year around 60 students participate, with participants coming from the U.S., as well as Japan, Brazil, Canada, Hungary, Mexico, Spain, and elsewhere. Since 2011, the USJI has been responsible for selecting and sending two to three outstanding students from sponsoring universities to the International Fellows Program each semester.


From left to right:With Officials from Toyota, Embassy of Japan, USJI and CSPC /Visiting Eisenhower National Historic Site with international fellows
Miki Kadota, Keio University
Research Theme:
The Presidential Control Attempting to Change the “Checks and Balances”:Focusing on the Executive Orders
Ryu Nagae, The University of Tokyo
Research Theme:
The Evolution of the Executive-Legislative Relations in the U.S. Politics: The Use of Force and Foreign Policy Making
Minami Kurokami, Waseda University
Research Theme:
On the Formulation of Public Opinion: Shifting Dynamics of the U.S.-Japan Alliance
Conference Schedule

Fall Leadership Conference in Washington D.C.
(October 23 to 28, 2017)
Spring Leadership Conference in Washington D.C. (TBD)

Reporting in Japan

Interim Reporting at Waseda University
(November 24, 2017 17:00-18:20)

Upper right: Miki Kadota, Keio University / Lower left:Ryu Nagae, The University of Tokyo /Lower right:Minami Kurokami, Waseda University


2016 CSPC: Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress
Three fellows are now participating in this international leadership conference.

Yuka Koshino, Keio University
Selena Kaneko, Kyoto University
Fumi Osawa, Waseda University

Kumiko Mita, Keio University
Naoto Umezawa, Waseda University

Shiori Takano, Kyoto University
Kohei Shoji, Waseda University

Noriko Amanuma, Waseda University
Mutsumi Yoshikawa, Ritsumeikan University

Miki Ito, The University of Tokyo
Kenji Hayata, Waseda University

Support USJI

Upcoming Events

November 01,2018
Tokyo’s Tiptoe Around U.S. Political Turmoil: Past and Present
  • Sponsoring Universities


    The USJI provides email updates about events and other news. Please go here to sign up for/stop receiving updates.